webinar register page

Fostering Independent Reading with Inclusive Books: A Webinar with Julia Torres
The Central Arizona Writing Project and Department of English at Arizona State University present activist educator Julia Torres. Torres will discuss the ways teachers (K-University), parents, and community members may bring inclusive texts to the teaching and reading in their classrooms, libraries, curriculum, homes, and community spaces. “Fostering Independent Reading with Inclusive Books” is in an online event on Thursday, May 6th at 4:30 p.m. Arizona time* (4:30 p.m. PDT / 5:30 p.m. MDT / 7:30 p.m. EDT). The conversation with Torres will be facilitated by ASU's Jessica Early, professor and director of the English Education program.

JULIA E. TORRES is a veteran language arts teacher and librarian within the Far Northeast Region of Denver Public Schools in Colorado. As a teacher/activist committed to education as a practice of freedom, her practice is grounded in the work of empowering students to use literacy to fuel resistance and positive social transformation. In cooperation with The Educator Collaborative, Julia facilitates workshops and professional conversations about anti-bias/anti-racist education, social justice and culturally sustaining pedagogies in Language Arts, as well as digital literacy and librarianship. Her work has been featured in several publications, including NCTE's Council Chronicle, NPR, Al Jazeera's The Stream, PBS Education, KQED MindShift, the New York Times Learning Network, The Chicago Tribune, ASCD's Education Update, School Library Journal and many more.

May 6, 2021 04:30 PM in Arizona

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Bruce Matsunaga.