webinar register page

Webinar banner
GSM Live: COVID-19 & Native American Sport
Native American communities have been hit harder than others in the wake of the pandemic. The realities of lacking resources have been brought to the forefront during this time.

Communities have been forced to cancel large gatherings, like most of the world, including the 2020 Native American Basketball Invitational, which has far reaching impact for young people on and off the court. The games brought the community together as well as opportunities for higher education with college and job fairs.

In this episode, brought to you by Global Sport Matters and Indian Country Today, we will speak with experts on the impact of COVID-19 on Native American communities and sport, and what reset means for recovering.

Joining the conversation:
-Jordan Marie Daniel (Sioux) | Fourth generation runner and Indigenous advocate, #RunningForJustice
-Brent Cahwee (Pawnee/Euchee) | Co-founder of NDNSports
-Natalie Welch (Cherokee) | Assistant Professor of Sport Management at Linfield College
-Dr. Michelle Tom (Navajo) | Physician on the Navajo Nation, former Arizona State University basketball

Guest Host:
Patty Talahongva, Executive Producer of Indian Country Today

Event starts at: 11AM Pacific; 2PM Eastern

May 15, 2020 11:00 AM in Arizona

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Kendall Jones.