webinar register page

Webinar banner
GSM Live: GSM Live: Broke, Bust, Bankrupt: Avoiding financial loss in the post-sport journey
Rising to the top of your game comes with perks: money, access, and opportunities galore. For a lot of athletes, the amount of wealth given in contracts can be great, but also overwhelming, and may even lead to financial despair when the well dries up, sometimes unexpectedly.

According to a 2015 study by the National Bureau of Economic Research, 15.7% of NFL athletes have filed for bankruptcy 12 years after they retire. And in the three major American sports (NFL, MLB, NBA) the average career spans less than 5 years, which doesn’t leave much time to accrue wealth like other people.

Going big in sports is rewarded, often required, as athletes are conditioned to “leave it all on the field” but in the real world, it’s moderation that can lead to sustained wins. How can we prepare athletes (and ourselves) for the next phase in life after the game lights go off? And now with the advent of name, image and likeness rulings across the U.S., what are the pitfalls to avoid?

Join GSM Live for an in-depth discussion about creating wealth and habits that can set athletes up for success.

-Mori Taheripour, globally recognized executive, award-winning educator and author of Bring Yourself: How to Harness the Power of Connection to Negotiate Fearlessly

-Shelley Miles, CEO at Singleton Foundation

-Jacques McClendon, LA Rams Director of Football Affairs, former NFL player

Hosted by: 
Kenneth Shropshire, CEO at Global Sport Institute 

Event is live on 9/17/2021 at 11am (Pacific) / 2pm (Eastern)

Sep 17, 2021 11:00 AM in Arizona

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Kendall Jones.