webinar register page

Webinar banner
GSM Live: COVID-19 & Latin America
In March, 14 football clubs across Brazil offered their stadiums and training facilities to emergency services. Now at the end of May, parts of the world are slowly reopening with some sports following suit. Major football championships, like the Copa America, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) Nations League Finals have been suspended and postponed though their eventual returns are expected. Like MLB teams in the US, baseball is scrambling to find safe ways to bring back national and international players amidst travel bans and strategic containment of spread.

In this moment as we examine the impact of COVID-19, we look at what reset means in Latin America, the culture of sport and the role it plays in every day life, and what's next for athletes and communities alike.

Joining the conversation:
-Carla Bustamante | Communication Director, Naranjeros de Hermosillo Baseball Club

-Brenda Elsey | Associate Professor of History at Hofstra University and Co-Host of Burn It All Down

-Julio Ricardo Varela | Journalist, Senior Executive for Futuro Media, Co-Host of In The Thick

-Victor Ocando | International Sports Lawyer, Lecturer, and external Legal Counsel for soccer clubs and agents in Venezuela, South America and Europe

Hosted By:
Andrew Ramsammy | Director of Digital Content for Global Sport Matters and Global Sport Institute

Event starts at 11AM Pacific US; 2PM Eastern US

May 29, 2020 11:00 AM in Arizona

Webinar logo
* Required information
Loading